home

Created a new Gemini account.

Hello, this is a short new article that I am writing to let you guys know that I created a new gemlog account to keep myself active in the gemini network. It's been some time since I went back to Gemini. But yes from now on I will make sure to update my gemini capsule and write more content there.

So yes, if you have never heard of gemini let me do a brief introduction. Gemini is a separate protocol just like http, https or ftp. But this new protocol is not taking you to the future but is taking back to the past. Back to the internet of 80s and 90s. No stupid monetization, ads or trackware just you and your text. So yes no multimedia is allowed in that space, mostly just text. I think there were some guys doing made it possible to upload images there, but I am not sure about that. Anyway if you are not into those old school text only internet, stop reading now. This is not for you.

So by any chance if you want to join this simple fast and beautiful network. You can't do so with your typical browser. You will need a gemini client. So there are many gemini clients out there. I personally use elpher with emacs. As I already use emacs a lot. But if you are not into those things there are some nice looking gemini clients like castor. You can do a simple search as gemini clients and find some beautiful and simple software to get you into the small net.

Then the next step is to create an account or a capsule. Well, there are many ways. If you want you can just host your own gemini server. But if not you can just make an account on something like gemlog or flounder just like I did. I created an account on gemlog. It only took me a couple of seconds. Just give them your email username and password, and that's it. I won't write step by step guide because this is just a short update article. If you want to create a gemlog account go to their website there will be a bunch of documentation. And after registering they will give you the link to your new gemini capsule. You can just paste that link on your gemini client and view it there. To create more files on your capsule you will have to use the typical gemlog webpage on https though.